well….. I least I can still walk……

The Big C may not be so BIG……. I went to the Vet Oncologist Dr. Ward and she couldn’t biopsy my one swollen lymph node because it was too small.  I guess thats good news …………….. BUT

I do have Masticatory Muscle Mysositis (MMM) –  Thats a mouthful.

What is Masticatory muscle myositis?

Masticatory muscle myositis, commonly abbreviated MMM, is an inflammatory disease the affects the jaws of the dog. The jaw of the dog swells up and it can be difficult for the dog to open its mouth. The condition is painful. Chronic MMM can cause scar formation that makes it impossible for the dog to open its mouth.

 

 

Masticatory muscle myositis symptoms in dogs

A dog with acute Masticatory muscle myositis can show symptoms such as swollen jaw muscles and drooling, and it can be painful for the dog to open up the mouth.

Chronic Masticatory muscle myositis causes jaw muscles atrophy and scars will form in the masticatory muscles. The scars can make it impossible for the dog to open its mouth, a condition known as trismus.

The most commonly used Masticatory muscle myositis treatment is to give the sick dog corticosteroids (glucocorticoids), e.g. Prednisone.

*************************

So that’s why I couldn’t eat ?? or bark or lick mummys face …………. It has made my head look a little different. I have lost some strength on the Prednisone but I hope to get it back.  I have been eating very soft food for weeks but tonight I ate all of Daddy’s chicken from his KFC Bucket. MMMMMMMMM……. I think I can do it. I am not the same pup but I do wag my tail when I see Mummy, Daddy and Nana. Nana has been taking care of me this week while mummy goes back to work and fly’s to Atlanta next week.

Time for bed

 

 

About pokeyspeaks1

I bark about all kinds of things, usually at people who pass by on the street. Now I want my bark to be heard by many more!!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

